Friedman Lecture and Awards

The Harvey A. Friedman Center for Aging hosts this annual event to celebrate the latest in ideas and research in aging.

In partnership with the Center for Health Economics and Policy at the Institute for Public Health, we are hosting the 17th Annual Friedman Lecture & Awards on April 4, 2017. Our keynote speaker, Marilyn Moon, PhD, will discuss the future of health policy in a rapidly aging America.  Join us at the Eric P. Newman Education Center on the Washington University Medical Campus for this event.

Registration is now closed, but walk-ins are welcome. 

Click here for the event flyer.

Award Nominations

The Friedman Center is seeking nominations for the 2017 Friedman and Kopolow Awards. The submission deadline for all 2017 awards is March 15, 2017. See Award Details below.

Awards will be presented at the Friedman Lecture & Awards event. Awardees receive up to $3,000 for aging-related professional development endeavors. Nominations must include a completed nomination form and a nomination letter of no more than three pages emailed to or mailed to Washington University, Institute for Public Health, 660 A. Euclid Ave, CB 8217, St. Louis, MO 63110, Attn: Stephanie Herbers.

Call for Posters

Want to get the word out about your aging-related work? We are inviting posters from St. Louis area presenters on research or evaluation of aging-relevant issues, programs, etc. at this year’s Friedman Lecture. Posters from recent conferences are welcomed. Space is limited. If you have any questions, contact us at or (314) 747-9234. Register here.

DEADLINE: March 15, 2017.

Award Details

The Harvey A. and Dorismae Hacker Friedman Award for Excellence in Service to Older Adults

The purpose of this award is to recognize an individual who has made outstanding contributions in service to older adults. Individuals may make this contribution through practice, education, advocacy, or research. Eligible nominees must be professionals currently involved in work related to older adults within the St. Louis Metro Region.

The award is supported by The Foundation for Barnes-Jewish Hospital from the Harvey A. and Dorismae Hacker Friedman Fund and will be presented on behalf of the Harvey A. Friedman Center for Aging at the Friedman Lecture.

The Alene and Meyer Kopolow Award for Geriatrics, Psychiatry, and Neurology

The purpose of this award is to recognize stellar contributions to the care of older adults by a resident, postresidency fellow or junior faculty member in Neurology, Psychiatry, Medicine or related disciplines with experience on the geriatric services of Barnes-Jewish Hospital at Washington University Medical Center or at associated outpatient facilities, including Barnes-Jewish Extended Care. The award is not restricted to individuals with a medical degree (MD or DO). Nominees should demonstrate achievement in at least one of the following areas of geriatrics: direct patient care; didactic learning exercises or rounds, conferences, or national and international meetings; and in patient-oriented or basic research that address aging issues.

Recipients receive a formal announcement of the award, a plaque and $3,000 award money for aging-related educational endeavors including conference-related fees and travel expenses, books, journal subscriptions, field- or research-related software/hardware, etc.

The award is supported by the Foundation for Barnes-Jewish Hospital from the Alene and Meyer Kopolow Fund for Geriatrics, Psychiatry and Neurology and is presented on behalf of the Harvey A. Friedman Center for Aging at the Friedman Lecture.

Past Friedman Lectures

April 28, 2016: “Intersection of Aging and the Arts for Health and Wellbeing”
Revisit the 2016 Friedman Lecture

April 22, 2015: “Better Living Through Innovation: Responding to an Aging Society”
Revisit the 2015 Friedman Lecture

May 8, 2014: “Developing the Workforce for an Aging America”
Revisit the 2014 Friedman Lecture

May 3, 2013: “Creating Aging-Friendly Communities”
Revisit the 2013 Friedman Lecture

April 30, 2012: “The Aging Mind: Realities and Myths”
Revisit the 2012 Friedman Lecture

May 24, 2011: “Friedman Center for Aging Research: Selected Updates”
View 2011 Friedman Lecture agenda

May 25, 2010: “Productive Aging: Cross-Cultural Perspectives from China and the U.S.”
View 2010 Friedman Lecture agenda

April 21, 2009: “In the Words of the Artist: The Influence of Age on Creativity and Expression”
View 2009 Friedman Lecture agenda

May 13, 2008: “Are we Licensed for Life?: Transportation and Driving Issues in an Aging Society”
View 2008 Friedman Lecture agenda

Past Award Winners

Alene & Meyer Kopolow Award

2016 Scott Vouri, PharmD, MSCI, St. Louis College of Pharmacy
2015 Brandan Lucey, MD, Neurology

2014 Erik Musiek, MD, PhD, Neurology
2013 Tammie L. S. Benziger, MD, Radiology and Neurological Surgery
2012 Tanya Wildes, MD, Division of Medical Oncology
2011 Beau M. Ances, MD, PhD, MSc, Department of Neurology
2010 Susan Stark, PhD, OTR/L, Occupational Therapy and Neurology
2009 Nupur Ghoshal, MD, PhD, Department of Neurology
2008 Consuelo Hopkins Wilkins, MD, Division of Geriatrics and Nutritional Science
2007 Randall Bateman, MD, Department of Neurology
2006 Christopher Carpenter, MD, Division of Emergency Medicine
2005 Monique Williams, MD, Division of Geriatrics & Nutritional Science
2004 Barbara Joy Snider, MD, PhD, Department of Neurology
2003 Kellie L. Flood, MD, Division of Geriatrics & Nutritional Science

Harvey A. & Dorismae Hacker Friedman Award

2016 Virginia Buckles, PhD, Neurology
2015 Karen Berry Elbert, St. Louis NORC and Sherrill Wayland, SAGE Metro St. Louis
2014 Jennifer K. Phillips, MPA & Myrtis Smith Spencer, Knight Alzheimer’s Disease Research Center
2013 Rebecca I. Fierberg, MSW, Knight Alzheimer’s Disease Research Center
2013 Deborah Dalin Guyer, St. Louis Chapter of the American Parkinson’s Disease Association
2012 James Williams, MA, Knight Alzheimer’s Disease Research Center
2011 Terri L. Hosto, MSW, LCSW, Physical Therapy, Anatomy and Neurobiology,
2011 Nancy Tye-Murray, PhD, Otolaryngology
2010 Gammon M. Earhart, PhD, PT, Physical Therapy, Anatomy and Neurobiology,
2010 Nigel Cairns, PhD, FRCPath , Neurology and Pathology and Immunology
2009 Catherine M. Roe, PhD, Department of Neurology
2008 Marie McGowan Meisel, Department of Neurology
2007 Joanne Norton, Department of Psychiatry
2006 Eileen Costantinou, MSN, RN, BC, Barnes-Jewish Hospital
2005 Tamara Hershey, PhD, Psychiatry, Radiology & Neurology
2005 Maria Carroll, RN, BC, GCNS, Barnes-Jewish Hospital
2004 Elizabeth A. Grant, PhD, Division of Biostatistics
2003 Mary A. Coats, RN, MSN