2018 Friedman and Kopolow Awardees

May 7, 2018

On April 20, the Harvey A. Friedman Center for Aging recognized three individuals for their service to older adults in St. Louis through the Harvey A. and Dorismae Hacker Friedman Award for Excellence in Service to Older Adults and the Alene and Meyer Kopolow Award for Geriatrics, Psychiatry, and Neurology.

For 15 years, the Friedman Center for Aging has presented these awards on an annual basis with support from funds administered by the Foundation for Barnes Jewish Hospital. Awardees are selected based on nominations submitted to the Friedman Center — in addition to public recognition, awardees receive a small monetary award to support their work. Past awardees

2018 Friedman Award Winners

The Harvey A. & Dorismae Hacker Friedman Award for Excellence in Service to Older Adults recognizes individuals in the St. Louis Metro region who make outstanding contributions in service to older adults. Individuals may make this contribution through practice, education, advocacy, or research.

Awardees with Lynn Friedman Hamilton

Janis M. McGillick, MSW, MA, LNHA, Dolan Memory Care Homes

Janis McGillick is the Director of Community Engagement at Dolan Memory Care Homes. She is responsible for dementia-specific staff development, an academic internship program, and engagement with residents, their families, and the larger community. Prior to joining Dolan Memory Care, McGillick served for 23 years as the Education Director of the Alzheimer’s Association, St. Louis Chapter. She is also a licensed nursing home administrator and instructor at Lindenwood University’s Gerontology Program.

McGillick was nominated by Tim Dolan, President of Dolan Memory Care Homes, who wrote: “From her earliest days, Janis knew she wanted to follow in the footsteps of early gerontologists such as Drs. Havighurst, Neugarten, Tobin, and so many others, in a very direct if not radical way. For example, at the age of 30 Janis was a Gray Panther working for Illinois’ Citizens for Better Care. Janis has been able to provide vision, leadership, expertise, and education to influence a pathway toward the highest possible quality of care for elders.”

Nikki G. Goldstein, MSW, Crown Center for Senior Living

Nikki Goldstein is Executive Director of Crown Center for Senior Living. She has served as the Center’s executive director for 18 years. She provides professional leadership to a forward thinking non-profit agency committed to a vision of a vibrant and engaged community in which all seniors thrive by offering affordable, high quality housing and services to older people regardless of their financial circumstances.

Goldstein was nominated by her colleague, Karen Berry Elbert, retired manager of the St. Louis NORC, who wrote, “Nikki focuses on resident dignity at Crown Center for Senior Living. A resident was quoted as saying, ‘I feel sorry for people who have too much money to live here.’ Nikki is a visionary leader who takes risks to build programs and a community that benefits all residents.”

2018 Kopolow Award Winner

Gregory S. Day, MD

The Alene & Meyer Kopolow Award for Geriatrics, Psychiatry, and Neurology recognizes stellar contributions to the care of older adults by a resident, post-residency fellow, or junior faculty member in neurology, psychiatry, medicine, or related disciplines through direct patient care, education, or research.

Awardee with Tina Hissong, Foundation for Barnes Jewish Hospital

Gregory Day is currently an Assistant Professor and the Associate Leader of the Clinical Core at the Knight Alzheimer’s Disease Research Center. In his role he identifies memory loss and impairment that is not a part of normal aging. His research focuses on improving clinical diagnosis and characterization of patients with atypical neurodegenerative and autoimmune-mediated causes of cognitive impairment, including patients with rapidly progressive dementia.

Day was nominated by Drs. John Morris and Brian Gordon. Dr. Morris wrote, “Washington University has many excellent faculty members that are either talented clinicians or researchers. Gregg stands out among them by being a leader in the field in both aspects of his academic persona. Perhaps more importantly, Gregg is a genuinely kind and collaborative faculty member.”

The 2018 awards were made possible by the support of the Harvey A. and Dorismae Hacker Friedman Endowment for Aging and the Alene and Meyer Kopolow Fund for Geriatrics, Psychiatry, and Neurology at The Foundation for Barnes-Jewish Hospital.