Colditz Named 2017 AAAS Fellow

November 21, 2017

Institute for Public Health Deputy Director and faculty scholar Graham A. Colditz, MD, is one of seven faculty members at Washington University in St. Louis who are among 396 new fellows selected by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the world’s largest general scientific society. 

Graham A. Colditz headshot
Niess-Gain Professor of Surgery and Division Chief, Public Health Sciences, School of Medicine; Deputy Director, Institute for Public Health, Washington University in St. Louis

Graham A. Colditz headshotColditz, the Niess-Gain Professor of Surgery and chief of the Division of Public Health Sciences, is being honored for distinguished contributions to cancer epidemiology and prevention, particularly through his translation of research to advance the popular understanding of strategies to reduce cancer risk.

As an epidemiologist and public health expert, Colditz has a longstanding interest in the preventable causes of cancer and other chronic diseases, particularly among women, and translating that research into guidelines and policies aimed at promoting healthier lives. His work has focused on establishing connections between numerous lifestyle factors, such as smoking, physical activity, diet and weight gain, and the risk of cancer and other diseases. He also has documented a link between smoking and risk of stroke and mortality among women, and between weight gain and risk of diabetes and certain cancers.

Colditz is also associate director of prevention and control at Siteman Cancer Center at Barnes-Jewish Hospital and Washington University School of Medicine.

He earned his doctorate in public health at Harvard University and his medical degree at the University of Queensland. He completed his internship and residency in internal medicine at Royal Brisbane Hospital.

His past honors include the American Association for Cancer Research Award for Outstanding Achievement in Cancer Prevention Research; the American Society of Clinical Oncology-American Cancer Society Award and Lecture; and the American Cancer Society Medal of Honor. He joined the Washington University faculty in 2006.

Also selected as new AAAS fellows are Michael G. Caparon Jr., PhDJohn A. Cooper, MD, PhDMichael S. Diamond, MD, PhDSusan K. Dutcher, PhDTimothy J. Eberlein, MD – all at the School of Medicine– and Michael L. Gross, PhD, of Arts & Sciences and the School of Medicine.

The new fellows will be formally announced in the Nov. 24 issue of Science and honored Feb. 17 during the 2018 AAAS Annual Meeting in Austin, Texas.

Read the full news release published by the Washington University School of Medicine.