Congrats to Winners of Global Health & Infectious Disease Presentation Awards

April 21, 2015

A number of participants in the 2015 Global Health & Infectious Disease Symposium and Conference on April 9 & 10 received awards for their outstanding work.

These included:

Trainee Oral Symposium Presentations

Best postdoctoral fellow talk
Rosanne Hertzberger, PhD, cWIDR, Washington University, for: “Degradation and Metabolism of Glycogen During Bacterial Vaginosis”

Best student talk
Priya Pal, MD/PhD Student, Molecular Microbiology, Washington University, for: “The Role of HRPII in Cerebral Malaria Pathogenesis”

Conference Posters

Category: Translational/Clinical Research

Best resident poster
“Prevalence of Risk Factors for Chronic Kidney Disease of Non-Traditional Causes in Southwestern Guatemala Hemodialysis Patients: A Descriptive Study”; authors: Laux, Timothy1, Barnoya, Joaquin1, Cipriano, Ever2, Herrera, Erick2, Lopez, Noemi1, Sanchez, Vicente2, Rothstein, Marcos1, 1Washington University in St. Louis and 2Instituto Guatemalteco de Seguridad Social

Best student posters; first place
“Integrated Management of Moderate and Severe Acute Malnutrition in Sierra Leone using RUTF”; authors: Nneka Molokwu, Lauren Singh, Elizabeth Cimo, Mark Manary, Washington University in St Louis

Best student posters; second place
“Assessment of  Air-borne Methicillin Resistant Staphylococcus Aureus in Dental Clinics”; authors: Ankita Bhalla, Arthur Frank, Drexel School of Public Health

Category: Basic Science Research

Best postdoctoral fellow posters; first place
“Ferritinophagy Modulates Uropathogenic E.coli Survival in Bladder Mucosa During a UTI” authors: Kyle A Bauckman and Indira Mysorekar, Washington University

Best postdoctoral fellow posters; second place
“AIDS Alters the Enteric Microbiome in HIV Infection”; authors: Cynthia Monaco1, David Gootenberg2, Guoyan Zhao1, Musie Ghebremichael2, Scott Handley1, Megan Baldridge1, Meaghan Flagg2, Mark Seidner2, Jason Norman1, Brian Keller1, Doug Kwon2, and Herbert Virgin1; 1Washington University School of Medicine and 2Ragon Institute

Best postdoctoral fellow posters; third place
“Mycobacterial Mediators of Inducible Bronchial Associated Lymphoid Tissue (iBALT)”; authors: Oliver A. Prince1, Suhas Gondi1, Hongmei Jiao1, Deepak Kaushal2, Shabaana A. Khader1, 1Department of Molecular Microbiology and Immunology, Washington University School of Medicine and 2Department of Microbiology and Immunology, Tulane University

Best student poster; first place
“The Glucose Transporter PfHT1 is a Molecular Target for the Anti-Malarial Effect of the HIV Protease Inhibitor Lopinavir”; authors: Thomas E. Kraft, Christopher Armstrong, Monique Heitmeier, Audrey R. Odom and Paul W. Hruz, Department of Pediatrics, and Department of Cell Biology and Physiology, Department of Molecular Microbiology, Washington University School of Medicine